Road Warrior: Travel clothing update


Last week I wrote about how I’m traveling lighter these days, and some tips to go about doing so. You can read the full post here.

I recommended that any clothing you bring should have a use each day, and clothing that has multiple uses should definitely have a place in your bag. For the business traveller set, who have a higher standard of dress code, this can be difficult. Thanks to clothing companies like Nau and Outlier though, that obstacle has been obliterated.

For a blazer/jacket, I had suggested the Nau Riding Jacket, and I stand by that. It looks great, functions like a soft shell jacket, and will stand up to repeated wearings.

Now, I didn’t suggest any pants, because I hadn’t found any that met the criteria:

  1. Great looking
  2. Multiple uses
  3. Weather & odor resistant

For now, that question has been settled. I present to you the Outlier 4Season OG Pant ($188).

Outlier 4Season OG Pant

This pant fits all the above criteria, and then some. It’s durable, flexible, and just dressy enough. Pair with some Ex-Officio boxers and you’ll have it made for the week!

Bill Strickland of Bicycling Magazine calls them “The perfect bike-to-boardroom pant. But that doesn’t begin the cover everything you’ll do in these”

Jeff Thrope of the New York Times declares “They’re meant for biking, but I have yet to find a better pair of hiking pants than Outlier’s 4 Season OGs. They wick water; repel light rain and dirt; and stretch so much, you’ll forget they’re slim-fit”

So you can take their word for it, especially since they have worn and tested the pants. I think Outlier hit all the right buttons, but since I haven’t worn them, I’ll just have to say I suggest them. I’ll have to wait until I can afford a pair, unless Outlier wants to send me a pair to test?

I do apologize that I have recommended some pricey items, I know money is tight and $188 pants probably aren’t on your purchase list. But, I do believe that there is a case to be made for buying fewer items, that are well-made and long-lasting, for a bit more money. I know when I get around to my next pair of dress pants, these will be on the list.

For our suited brethren, any other suggestions for clothing that is great looking, functional, and good in bad weather? Would love to hear about YOUR recommendations!

Leave a Reply

